Skip to main content
Powered by rSchoolToday
Advertise With Us
 News Article
Trinity Christian School Varsity Soccer 2018 Wrap Up
Trinity Christian School Varsity Soccer

Congratulations to our Trinity Christian School Varisty Soccer Team! We had a great season that brought us to the WPIAL playoffs! The team finished the 2018 Fall Season with a 10-9 overall record and a 7-5 conference record. That placed us in third place for our conference and qualified us for the WPIAL playoffs. We played against #3 seed Seton LaSalle, who won 3-1. Ben Blackburn scored a goal in the first half and the whole game was exciting.

In addition to making the playoffs as a team, five of our players were honored individually. Ben Blackburn, Jacob Riviere, Hayden Verhill, and Morgan Kost were selected to the WPIAL 1A Section 2 High School Boy's Soccer All Section Team this year. Mitchell McGuire also received an honorable mention to the team. The All Section Team comprises the top 15 players in the section as selected by all of the head coaches in the section. Ben Blackburn led Trinity Christian in scoring for the 2nd year in a row with 16 goals and 3 assists. Jacob Riviere finished with 9 goals and 5 assists. Hayden VerHill was Trinity's second highest goal scorer with 10 goals and 4 assists. Morgan Kost led Trinity in assists with 10, and also had 4 goals of her own. Mitchell McGuire was the main anchor for our team's defense, and finished with 1 goal and 3 assists of his own.

Our team was led by our four Senior Captains, Ben Blackburn, Zach Gould, Jacob Riviere, and Nick Vaughn. Nick Vaughn just joined the team this year and did an exceptional job playing goal for us all season. The defense was anchored by strong play from both Mitchell McGuire and Tim Patsko in the middle. Two Freshman, Keith Merritt and Evan Matos stepped up big on defense and gave us a lot of strong minutes in their first year with the team.

Our Varsity Soccer team was coached by Head Coach Ben Kost with assistant coaches Brendan McGuire and JW Lee.

Finally, another big congratulations goes to Head Coach Ben Kost who was named Co-Coach of the Year for our section!